Just another day in the life of…..

A few weeks ago, my blog concerned my use–or non-use of martial artists in my film projects. For most martial arts experts, the line between reality and fantasy can get mighty blurry. While there are scores of martial arts experts who understand there is a line one does not cross, others are so full of ego and hubris, they just say anything damn thing they want with no fear of repercussions. That’s just the way it is when you’re the expert of everything, and Mister know it all on top of your own hill of shit.

A few months ago, an email appeared in my inbox from a “martial arts expert” who wanted to know what my qualifications were for being a “Martial arts Cinema researcher”. I guess my bio which detailed my 40 years in film and martial arts, plus my Master’s degree in cinema didn’t give it away. Guess that should have been my first clue this clown would be back with more. He was.

As many of you know, my new film ARMY FROM HELL is available on Vimeo on Demand. The welcome page has a trailer for the movie before you purchase the film. bear in mind, mister “expert” didn’t bother to watch the entire film. He watched the trailer.

This was his assessment of my entire career based on viewing a trailer:

From Simon:
So I just watched the trailer for your film “Army From Hell”. I dig indie movies, especially ones that have, please take no offense, b-rated special effects in them. I think they’re awesome. lol, i don’t know why, i just do. But, the reason I’m messaging you is because I was curious as to who choreographed your fight scenes? I ask not because i’m a choreographer, but because I’m a martial artist who has had to put together some choreography for demos. In short, the fight scenes are weak. Now, I don’t know if this is what you were going for to add to that B-grade action; if so then i applaude as fan of the genre, and apologize for slamming the art of your craft. But, if you’d like, for any future projects, I’d be happy to lend my talents. I’ve studied 11-yrs of chinese kuoshu, under the teaching of Shi-Ye Martin Ware; taught classes of all ages and abilities for 8 of those 11-yrs, fought in full contact fights for 2-yrs(record of 5>3) and trained fighters for 3-yrs. I have experience in open hand as well as weapon combat forms and techniques. I know this all reads nice, but proof is in the pudding, so to speak. If you ever would like a live demostration (sic) let me know and I would be happy to provide one.
Thank you,
-Simon-

Here’s my reply:

William Lee
11:53pm

Simon:

Your note is much like the feeling of being patted on the head and called “boy”, while simultaneously being kicked in the nuts. If you think your apology for slamming the art of (my) craft is your bail out card, you can put that bitch right back in your pocket. I am insulted you would even go there.

Can you really be that stupid?
I have studied kung fu for 40 years and have a pretty good idea of what works on film and what non martial arts audiences would enjoy. I also have a master’s degree in film, and have made more than 38 films. I am not the world’s greatest martial artist, but I am insulted by your comments. I DON’T MAKE MY FILMS TO PLEASE martial arts experts (like yourself), I make films to provide action and entertainment.

However, If you feel my film FIGHT CHOREOGRAPHY is weak, you have my permission to make a better one. And when you complete that task, hell will complete THE PROCESS of freezing over. Child, please.

I am proud to say that my work has been complemented by Roy Horan, the producer for many of Jackie Chan’s original films. Additionally, this was not a martial arts film sir, it was an action film. And the reason I do not usually work with martial artists in my films is because it always turns into a competition, and they cannot discern the difference between making a filmed martial arts demonstration film, and making a piece of entertainment.

You Are the perfect example of that disconnect.

Therefore, most of the people in the film are not masters of the art like yourself, they are out to entertain audiences. I am not interested in making films which highlight specific moves or traditional styles. I leave that to documentary filmmakers and instructors. I am a filmmaker who makes films for commercial release, not instructional classes for honorable masters of everything– like you.

In short, I make films for people to enjoy.

P.S. This attempt to impress me by demeaning me was not a very well thought out tactic. So, really, like…..No, you cannot have a job.

How about you learn some common courtesy and diplomacy. And by the way, since you are such an expert at what constitutes a “good fight scene”, where the hell is your film?

Last I checked, your name doesn’t appear on any martial arts film ever produced anywhere.  In all of recorded history.

Well?

Well…just another day in the week of the life of yours truly.

God give me strength.

#OUT

Leave a Reply

